The Hawai'i Nurses' Association OPEIU Local 50

From its founding in 1917 to the present, the Hawai‘i Nurses' Association has served as the organization for nursing in Hawai‘i and continually strives to preserve the identity, integrity, and continuity of the profession. In 1918, the Hawai‘i Nurses' Association (then known as the Honolulu Nurses' Club) became affiliated with the American Nurses Association. For more than eighty years the Hawai‘i Nurses' Association has been recognized as the official voice for the nursing profession in Hawai‘i.

In 1960, the Economic and General Welfare Council of HNA began conducting labor relations for the organization. In 1979 a special House of Delegates was convened and the Collective Bargaining Organization within the Hawai‘i Nurses' Association (HNA/CBO) was created.

In 2004, delegates at a special HNA and House of Delegates approved resolutions to merge creating a single unified HNA. The Association is a multi-faceted organization, and offers its members the following programs: legislative, collective bargaining, and nursing practice.

In 2010, the Hawai‘i Nurses’ Association affiliated with the Office and Professional Employees International Union (OPEIU), and became HNA, OPEIU Local 50, AFL-CIO.

The Executive Board of the Hawai‘i Nurses' Association welcomes you to our organization!

Maureen Meehan-Golonka 

Interim Vice President
Larson Layugan

Cheryl Lynn Miller

Interim Treasurer
Gilbert Julian, Jr. 



Director of Field Services
Jeffrey Bott - ext 119

Clinical Nurse Consultant
Daryl Hokoana - ext 161  



Labor Relations Specialists
Clifton Dobson - ext 160

Susan Hashimoto - ext 153

Sean Shields - ext 114



Membership Department
(808) 531-1628

 Visit us on Facebook

Facilities for the Labor Relation Specialists

 Jeff Bott:
  • Kahuku Medical Center  

  • Wilcox Memorial Hospital

  • St Francis Community Health Services – Hospice

  • Kauai Medical Clinic 

  • Kapiolani Medical Center for Women & Children

Clifton Dobson:
  • Care Center of Honolulu
  • US Renal Care
  • Fresenius Acute/Liberty Dialysis
  • Avalon Care Center – Hale Nani LLC
  • Avalon Care Center – VA Hilo LLC
  • Kulana Malama
  • North Hawaii Community Hospital
  • Oahu Care Facility – RN and CNA
  • Pohai Nani Good Samaritan
  • Rehabilitation Hospital of the Pacific – RN and LPN
Susan Hashimoto:
  • Hale Makua
  • Hospice of Hilo
  • The Queen’s Medical Center
  • The Queen’s Medical Center – West
Daryl Hokoana:
  • Kuakini Geriatric Care, Inc
  • Kuakini Medical Center
Sean Shields: 
  • Kaiser Hospital
  • Straub Clinic and Hospital
  • Wahiawa General Hospital

Executive Board of Directors

Maureen Meehan-Golonka     President      Kaiser 
Dan Ross  Vice-President    Queen’s
Cheryl Lynn Miller Secretary     Queen’s
Marina Robinson   Treasurer Kaiser
Billy Craft  Director  Queen’s
Carolyn Uehara Director Rehabilitation Hospital of the Pacific
Deborah Swan Director Avalon Care Center – VA Hilo
Elijah Rasco  Director  Wahiawa
 Jill Teruya   Director Queen’s
 Joan Kutzer  Director  Wilcox
 Karen Evans Director  North Hawaii
 Kathryn Chung Director St Francis Hospice
 Merita Sao-Auelua  Director Kahuku
 Paulette Vasu Director  Kapiolani
 Susan Chanco Director   Queen’s
 Terilyn C. Luke Director Kaiser